An Informed Voter

Element #12 –Who are the Elected? – County Elected Objectives

- Number of counties in Oregon
- County Commissioners term of office
- Nonpartisan elected positions term of office
- 1. Oregon is divided into 36 counties
- 2. Counties in Oregon perform a dule role. They are **Agents** of the State and unit of **Local** government.
- 3. In most cases, county elected positions are the highest-ranking position in the county. Not under control of any state **elected** or **appointed** individual or agency.
- 4. County Commissioners in Oregon are **Non** positions, elected for a **4** term with No term limits.
 - a. County Commissioners are both **Executive** and **Legislative** branches of the county government.
- 5. Nonpartisan positions are usually **4** year terms with no term limits. These positions include:
 - a. Clerk
 - b. Sherriff
 - c. Treasurer
 - d. District Attorney
- 6. In Linn County the nonpartisan positions include; Assessor, **Surveyor**_ and **Justice of the Peace**.
- 7. The position responsible for elections is the County **Clerk**.

An Informed Voter

Element #13 -Who are the Elected? - Local Government Objectives

- The two categories of local tax districts.
- How to determine which tax districts you pay property tax to.
- Common categories of local taxing districts.
- Approximate number of elected and appointed positions in the taxing districts in your county.
- Term of office for those elected in local government.
- Special considerations for tax districts that cross county lines.
- How to become informed on the actions of the tax districts that you pay property tax to.
- 1. Local governments are referred to as **_Taxing** districts. They are divided into two categories; **__Cities__** and special **_Districts__**.
- 2. There are two ways to determine which organizations are funded by your property taxes.
 - a. Check your **Tax** statement
 - b. Check with the county **Assessors** office.
- 3. In Marion County there are **60** taxing districts. They include;
 - a. **20** cities, **14** education districts, **20** fire districts, **4** water districts and **2** other districts.
- 4. In Marion County there are approximately **344** local elected positions and **690** volunteer positions.
- 5. In Linn County there are **62**taxing districts. They include;
 - a. **14** cities, **18** education districts, **14** fire districts, **7** water districts and **8** other districts.
- In Linn County there are approximately 358 local elected positions and
 531 volunteer positions.
- 7. In Benton County there are **42**taxing districts. They include;

- a. 5 cities, 10 education districts, 9 fire districts, 13 road districts and5 other districts.
- 8. In Benton County there are approximately **220** local elected positions and **290** volunteer positions, not including the 100 positions in the City of Albany.
- 9. City council and mayor elections are held in **November** of even numbered years. There are **2** and **4** year terms with no term limits.
- 10. The Special District election is held in **May** of the odd numbered years.
 Most are for a **4** year term with no term limits.
- 11. Staying informed on the actions of a local taxing district could require about **2** hours a **Month.**